# Annual Business Meeting Monday, July 12, 2021

# Minutes

## 1. NACM Cares Charity

#### **Tina Mattison**

a. Introduction of the Urban League of San Diego with remarks from the COO, Al Abdallah.

2. Call to Order T.J. BeMent

a. President T.J. BeMent called the 2021 Business Meeting to order.

## 3. Declaration of Quorum

#### **Rick Pierce**

a. Secretary/Treasurer Rick Pierce declared that a quorum, or more than 1/10 of the NACM membership was present.

## 4. Treasurer's Report

## **Rick Pierce**

a. Rick reviewed the 2019 and 2020 actuals and reviewed the reduced 2021 budget. Financial statements were available to the membership on the conference app.

## 5. Committee Reports & Awards Committee Chairs

a. Communications -

#### **Charleston Carter**

 Charleston reviewed that the purpose of the communications committee is to promote and maintain effective communications through the podcast, Court Express & Court Manager, and webinars. Charleston presented committee awards to Jeff Chapple, Dorothy Howell, Frank Hardester, and Amanda Marshall.

## b. Education – Jeffrey Tsunekawa

i. Has two subcommittees, Conference Development which is in charge of organizing conference, and Core which is in charge of leadership and operations management. Education committee developed the resource repository and developed the Conference themes. Kathy presented CDC committee awards to Sarah Brown-Clark and Elizabeth Stephenson. Rick presented Core awards to Brandon Kimura and Ed McNachtan.

# c. Membership -

#### **Tina Mattison**

 Developed an ambassador program that will rollout next year. They've been conducting outreach to state associations for dual membership agreements.
Provided corporate shopping as benefit to membership. The membership subcommittees are awards, state associations, and ECP. Membership also runs the NACM mentorship program. Tina presented awards to Jerrell Griffin, Courtney Whiteside, and Janet Cornell.

# d. Governance – **Dorothy Howell**

i. Governance committee oversees updating strategic plan, national agenda, operations manual, and bylaws. Currently they are working on the resolution "in support of continuing efforts to meet civil legal needs", national agenda 2021, DEI subcommittee under consideration for a standing committee, and completing the Voice of Profession survey. Dorothy presented awards on behalf of Angie VanSchoick to Kent Pankey, Kim Free, and Nicole Garcia.

# 6. Report of Nominations Committee

#### **Will Simmons**

- a. The Nominations Committee unanimously recommends
  - i. Officers: President Elect Jeffrey Tsunekawa (TX), Vice President Rick Pierce (PA), Secretary/Treasurer Charleston Carter (DC)
  - ii. Board (3-year terms): Roger Rand (OR), Cheryl Stone (OR), Brandon Kimura (HI)
  - iii. Will thanked the Nominations Committee Members

#### 7. Nominations from the Floor

## T.J. BeMent

- a. T.J asked if there were any nominations from the floor.
  - i. Tina Mattison has been nominated for Secretary/Treasurer.
    - 1. The nomination of Tina Mattison for the position of Treasurer has been moved and seconded.
  - ii. A member made a motion to close the nominations.
    - 1. The motion to close the nominations has been seconded.
    - 2. Hearing no objections, the nominations are closed.
      - a. There is a contested race for Secretary/Treasurer. Tomorrow morning prior to the State of Profession address, the two candidates for position will be given 3 minutes each to present their case to the members at 8:35 am. Following that, members in person and attending virtually will receive an email from NACM. The email will contain two questions One will confirm member in good standing and the other will ask you to cast your vote. The voting will be kept open until the business meeting reconvenes on Thursday. There will be a 5-minute warning that voting will be over. Then we will complete the election process during the business meeting.

## 8. Recess T.J. BeMent

a. The business meeting was recessed until Thursday, July 15, 2021, at 8:30 a.m.

# Annual Business Meeting Thursday, July 15, 2021

# **Minutes**

# 9. Awards Presentation

**Jeffrey Tsunekawa** 

- a. Jeffrey gave the 5-minute warning before voting was closed.
- b. The Early Career Professional Award was presented to Nicole Garcia.
- c. The Enhancing Justice Award was presented to the Maryland Administrative Office of the Courts.
- d. The Enhancing Justice Award Honorable Mention was presented to the Arizona Administrative Office of the Courts
- e. Jeffrey presented a check to Mr. Abdullah with the Urban League of San Diego from NACM

# 10. Reconvene Business Meeting and Election Results

T.J. BeMent

- a. T.J. reconvened the business meeting at 8:30 am on Thursday, July 15, 2021. TJ asked for a motion to close the polls. A second was received. No further discussion or objections. Polls are officially closed, and the National Center for State Courts Association staff will officially tally the polls.
- b. T.J. reviewed the rules of voting from Robert's Rules of Order and NACM bylaws.
- c. T.J. recognized the outgoing board members: Michelle Dunivan, Charleston Carter, and Will Simmons.
- d. T.J. read out the election results for Secretary/Treasurer
  - i. The number of people eligible to vote was 250 (registered members in attendance)
  - ii. The number of votes cast was 168
  - iii. There were 3 votes that were withdrawn, and 4 votes that were not current with dues, 1 illegal vote from a nonmember
  - iv. Charleston Carter received 77 votes
  - v. Tina Mattison received 83 votes

#### 11. Introduction of the New Board

**Will Simmons** 

a. Will reviewed the slate of officers and congratulated the new board members

#### 12. Induction of the New Board

**CJ Bridget McCormack** 

- a. Chief Justice Bridget McCormack addressed the membership briefly regarding incoming President Kathy Griffin.
- b. Chief Justice Bridget McCormack administered the oath of office to all of the 2021-2022 board members.

# 13. Outgoing President's Remarks

T.J. BeMent

a. T.J. made remarks on his time as President and thanked the membership

#### 14. Transfer of Gavel to New President

T.J. BeMent

a. T.J. transferred the gavel to Kathy. Kathy presented T.J. with a crystal flame for his service as President.

# 15. Remarks from Incoming President

**Kathy Griffin** 

a. Kathy made remarks and stated her plan as the President

# 16. Adjournment Kathy Griffin

a. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned